California “Notice to Quit” Requirements Change:
As of January 1st, 2007, new legislation has changed “notice to quit” requirements for California landlords. A notice to quit is a formal notice ending the rental agreement or a request that the tenant relinquish the rental property to the landlord. The new legislation requires landlords to give tenants a 60-day notice to quit, rather than the former 30-day notice requirement. The law only applies when the lease term is month-to-month and the tenant has rented the property for a year or more. If you are a California renter, keep these facts in mind:
- If any tenant in the household has lived in a property for less than a year, the landlord is only required to give 30 days notice.
- The new legislation does not affect fixed-term leases.
- Renters are still only required to give landlords a 30-day notice to terminate tenancy.
- If the rental property is sold and the buyer plans to live in it, a 30-day notice requirement may still apply.
- Even if your landlord services you with a notice to quit, you are still required to pay your rent through the last day of the notice.
For more information, an article from the Law Offices of Kimball, Tirey & St. John (a California firm representing commercial and residential landlords) explains the changes in greater detail: http://www.kts-law.com/resource_library/alerts_100406.html