Top 5 Tips When you File a Complaint

January 28th, 2008 by

You’ve moved into a new apartment, your stuff is unpacked and you’re finally settled in- and that’s when you notice it. It might be the neighbor’s insufferably loud music, a broken security gate, a clear fire hazard or water that smells like sewage running down the only set of stairs to get to and from your apartment. Get ready to file a complaint with your landlord or management company, because little will get fixed if you don’t. But first, you’ll need to take some steps to make sure you come out on top. Keep these five tips in mind to ensure that your complaint will not only be read, but that some action will be taken.

1. Make sure your rent has been paid in full and on time:
When you file a complaint, you are essentially asking that your landlord take responsibility for his or her property. Make sure that you are a responsible tenant before filing the complaint. You don’t want a discussion on your unpaid rent to detract from your legitimate problem with your apartment. Make sure that you have fulfilled all of your obligations to the landlord so that he has no choice but to focus on your problem. If the complaint will result in a site visit to your apartment, make sure the place is in decent shape before the landlord or management company comes.

2. Check your lease for relevant terms and conditions:
Make sure that you understand the terms of your lease and that what you are asking the landlord to do is actually his responsibility. Asking him for improvements and changes he doesn’t have to provide is an exercise in futility. However, if your complaint deals with a safety issue, you have a right to complain, even if the specific situation is not spelled out in your lease.

3. Keep a paper trail of all requests to the landlord:
Keep a record of all your complaints to the landlord and any replies you get in return. If you make a complaint over the phone, be sure to back it up with a paper letter. If your landlord hasn’t responded to a request, send it by certified mail, which gives you a confirmation that the letter has been received. Most landlords don’t communicate by email, but if yours does, an email trail is a great electronic record of the efforts you made to contact the landlord. Still, your emails should be backed up with paper letters if your landlord is unresponsive. Keep track of when you sent each request, to whom you sent it and what your complaint was about. If you eventually have to go above your landlord to get an issue resolved, you will need all evidence of your efforts to get this problem solved.

4. Give the landlord adequate time to respond:
Of course, these problems aren’t solved overnight. Give your landlord adequate time to respond, unless there is an urgent, safety-related issue. But even in this case, it may be a day or two before your landlord checks the office voice mail or the better part of a week before he receives a letter sent by regular mail. Giving the landlord or management company time to respond also helps build your reputation as a reasonable tenant. When you do get a response, be firm but polite. It may seem hard to believe at times, but landlords are people too. Like anyone else, they’ll be more helpful if you treat them respectfully.

5. If you don’t get a response, don’t give up:
If you’ve been persistent, polite and given adequate time for your landlord to take action and he hasn’t, you’ll have to go above his head. There are a number of resources at your disposal. The first place to turn is the tenant’s association in your area; find one from the Renter’s Resource page on this blog:. They can better acquaint you with what your rights are in your city and state and can give you an idea of what your next steps might be. You may also consider filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau or local housing authority. Before you do so, let your landlord know the steps you are going to take. Sometimes just the threat of taking your problem to an outside agency will be enough to prompt the landlord to address the issue.

Whatever you do, don’t give up. You’ll give the (correct) impression you’ll back down if your landlord simply ignores you. Instead, be persistent but reasonable, polite but firm. When your complaint is finally resolved, don’t keep the good news to yourself. Let your neighbors know how you got the landlord to fix your problem so that they can follow the same tactics you did.

Tags: , , , , ,

Related Content


128 Responses to “Top 5 Tips When you File a Complaint”

  1. Guest Says:

    Rental Protection Agency can help if you are not able to resolve a problem with your landlord. You can file a landlord complaint with the Rental Protection Agency.

    RentalProtectionAgency.com
    I used them after trying to resolve a problem with my landlord for several months, after I filed the complaint my landlord magically made the repairs. If you can’t resolve the problem I would suggest getting some help. Complaints filed with the RPA are protected against landlord retaliation. They serve all 50 states.

  2. Guest Says:

    There is no such things a “security” gates. The gates that are referred to are called “limited access” as that is all they do – limit access. A car can easily follow a car through the gate with a car after that and after that ………

    Please never, ever think that a gate around your apartment complex eliminates or even deters crime or ensures your safety in anyway.

    Great article/blog. Very informative.

  3. Guest Says:

    DONT GO TO PARIS HOUSING THAY WILL PUT YOU OUT THAT JUST WONT YOUR MONEY TO PAY BACCK HUD SO THAY WONT KNOW THERE STILLING MONEY MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Guest Says:

    In response to the “security gate” comment. I think one of the best ways to create a safe community is to screen renters, if you have good people living there hopefully they will keep the community safe and not let anyone in who doesn’t belong there ;)

    Prevention vs. Reacting to a problem… Paper trails and digital records go further today than ever before. That said, sometimes you’re just in a rough place, lock your door I guess.

  5. Guest Says:

    DO NOT RENT APARTMENT FROM HUNTERS GLEN APARTMENTS AT 6400 INDEPENDENCE PKWY IN PLANO TX. There are all kinds of problems from mold and bad plumbing to having to look at a nasty swamp-like swimmng pool that you cant even swim in all year, oh wait afer the health dept closed the pools down, the pool was “ok” to swim in all of 1 month. They dont write down and properly take care of maintenance request so they can say you never complained, they ust write it on a sticky note in front of you so you think they care. My latest issue is they took 6 monthes to come fix my thermestate in apt. and claims I never told them, they just didnt put the request to fix it and now I am stuck with 3 $3-$400.0 power bills because the heat never went off it just kept running. I have a 4yr old and his room gets coldest in aptso i had to run it so he wouldnt get sick. Ive had my power turned off 2x b/c I cant afford it and had to throw away $200.00 worth of food out b/c i was out of town for funeral and came back to no power. After telling them Laura, the apt manager pretty much said b/c they didnt do their job by submitting my request to fix thermestate, there is no proof so I am S.O.L. and my power will be turned off again on March 24th b/c i acnt pay it and the tx heat is here, they dont care. Laura also saidshe would call me back the next day afte talking with her yesterday, she never called back HOW UNPROFRESHINAL IS THAT!!!!!!! and now they are doing an inspection of my apt to see what they an charge me for their lack of maintaining my apt because I complained. They said they do this to all tenants whose lease expires soon…..then why didnt they the last time I renewed? THATS IS PATHETIC!!!

  6. Guest Says:

    Also I wanted to tell you not to rent from L’atriums on the Creek Apartments either. They are nasty and Yes!!! the same problems on thing is that it rains in the apartments in the closet. My sister’s shoes are all wet and we have asked them repeatedly to come look at the mold in the laundry room and they have yet to look at. It seem like when mexicans on apartment complexes they just let anything and everything happen to the apartments and then wonder why no one wants to live in them. They really don’t like to response to the request of maintenance on anything out here. They are lazy and just do what they want on there on time.

  7. Guest Says:

    JPM REAL ESTATE IN PORTLAND OREGON ARE SLUMLORDS B E W A R E !!!! DO NOT RENT FROM!!!

  8. Guest Says:

    Please don’t rent at Westbrook Gary, Indiana I have had two ceilings to fall in and they still have not fixed it. I have 3 children and am a single mom. I am calling the health department.

  9. Guest Says:

    DO NOT RENT FROM ANY AVALON COMMUNITY. YOU WILL LOSE TIME AND MONEY. LARGE CORPORATION WITH A CARELESS STAFF.

  10. Guest Says:

    Don’t rent from COSTANZA ENTERPRISES in Rochester, NY. I live in the “newly restored” historical building – Station-55. There are so many hazardous things:
    A set of public poured concrete stairs to the building that have the form wood under each step and there are two wood screws sticking straight out – points out – one each step. Anyone with sandals would pike their toe with a rusty screw. There are children who live here. I have reported this multiple times and have physically walked two high level management to it to show them and nothing has been done in over five months.

    There are beams literally falling from the second floor into the main lobby area of the first floor. Three have fallen so far with no attempt to secure the remaining two. They are not attached properly – they were edging boards on a balcony on a concrete second floor that were not fastened in any way other than wood glue or some kind of adhesive that did not stick to the concrete.

    My apartment has a water leak that happens when it rains and the water comes through the bathroom fan housing (this is new as of two weeks ago). I have a double blade fan which has one blade that is tilted and hits the crossbar therefore I can not use it. I have asked for this simple fix numerous times and have gotten no response.

    I will not even go into the stone falling from the facade in the front of the building and the cracks in the two inch poured concrete floor ON THE SECOND FLOOR OF THIS 100 YEAR OLD BUILDING AND IT WAS DONE WITH *NO REBAR*!!!! This floor is less than a year old and there are cracks that go through the whole building and are literally growing by the month. They are currently between a sixteenth and an eighth inch and growing. The contractor told me specifically that there was no reinforcement used and that the excuse to the tenants would be that they wanted “spider cracks” for visual effect.

    Oh, and when the wind blows drywall dust blows out from under the walls where they meet the floor and gives a white coating for a foot from every wall (the apartments were framed in using aluminum and drywall inside the large brick building).

    They made me give a three month security deposit because my credit score is low even though I have a good paying job and glowing references from every landlord I have had in the last five years. After treating me like dirt they are not responding to anyone’s complaints.

    A fire alarm went off on Sunday and the doors to the residential areas went to fail-secure and the firemen could not get in. There was no way for them to see which apartment had prompted the alarm. The security system here has never been right and the fire system is not either. After the fire alarm many of the smoke alarms are not functioning. There has been no contact from the landlords.

    These are corrupt people with no regard for the tenants. They own other properties like the Temple Building in Rochester, NY and a few others. Stay far away from them.

    I am starting the process of legal complaint but I am not sure how to start. If anyone has any suggestions of where to legally complain and have something done, I would appreciate it. There are multiple concerns that I have not even mentioned.

  11. Guest Says:

    DO NOT RENT FROM PARC DULLES APARTMENT MANAGED BY THE LERNER GROUP IN DULLES VA. CUSTOMER SERVICE IS THE WORST THEY DO NOT SEEM TO CARE AND NOT EMPATHETIC TO THE TENNAENTS CONCERNS. THEY DO NOT FOLLOW UP ON SERIOUS ISSUES. BUT THEY WILL TAKE YOUR RENT MONEY OF COURSE!!

  12. Guest Says:

    DO NOT RENT ADAMS COURT APARTMENT IN SEATTLE!!!

    THIS IS THE WORST APARTMENT EVER. THE MANAGER SAID I WALKED AND RUN ON STAIRWAYS(I DIDNT DO IT OF COURSE!). HE CHARGED ME $50 FOR THIS AND DID NOT ACCEPT ME RESPONSE, AND I DONT PAY IT. NOW HE IS GONNA CHARGE ME $150; OTHERWISE, KICK ME OUT!!!

  13. Guest Says:

    DO NOT RENT FROM THE LEGACY OF CEDAR HILL!!!! YOU WILL NEVER GET ANYTHING FIXED ON TIME,MAINTENANCE AND MANAGEMENT ARE AWFUL!! THE GATES NEVER WORK AND THE GROUNDS ARE UNKEPT. U DON’T GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR HERE. LOOK SOMEWHERE ELSE TO MOVE. THIS IS NOT THE PLACE!!!

  14. Guest Says:

    do not rent from tnt properties — and —- —– they are bastards and a rip off. they will try to get away with anything. DONT RENT FROM TNT PROPERTIES — AND —- —–

  15. Guest Says:

    DO NOT RENT FROM — ——-, aka RANE MNGMNT,

    this man is a renters nightmare! deposits are not returned, 75 % of tenants are sued, he has a weekly court date set aside, and even though he cannot find an attny to represent him he still sues in his overalls weekly. he uses inferior lumber, salt on ice is one handful per sidewalk, goes into apts and watches their tv’s without notice, and on and on, i know all this because i worked for him and was evicted from an apt after i quit because the water in the apt wouldnt shut off, they tried to fix it without a pro 5 times and finally i left it on and he sued me for 7,000! and put the summons on the door of the apt id been evicted from a month after i’d moved

  16. Guest Says:

    Need resources. Have manager abusing her position. Evicting people by using fright tactics, false paperwork, issuing trumped up 10 notices, etc. Low income complex. People afraid and having panic attacks, etc. because of the fear this woman is causing. What can be done. Any help appreciated.

  17. Guest Says:

    DO NOT RENT FROM ——– OR —– ——– AT — N. Main St., Blacksburg, VA 24060 They have broken into all the apt’s when we are not home (one neighbor found sticky notes on various utility items!), they’ve thrown out over a 200 dollars worth of my property, they’ve shown up to neighbors apt’s when they’ve had guests over to count the number of ppl and then ask for ID and license plate numbers! I have had things in my apt. broken, things taken, the landlord showing up at all hours (6 am- 11 pm) for no reason of any importance, now the daughter is involved and she’s sending threatening letters b/c I was in the hospital and had to miss a couple days on the rent. This place is an ever-loving nightmare! It may look nice from the outside… but I warn you, please… save yourselves!

  18. Guest Says:

    The problem is FIXED after couple days. HE is willing to cancel the charge and solve the problem without involving legal action. by the way, the place is close to uw campus, nice place to live.

  19. Guest Says:

    Don’t rent from UDR Management. They managed apartments in the Washington, D.C. area. One in particular is Dominion Lake Ridge Apartments in Woodbridge. The cheated me out of $100.00 after moving out of the dump for a satelite dish on the balcony that was there on move-in. I got out of my lease early because they refused to evict noisy tenants that slammed doors and played loud music. I had to have proof they were noisy I was told. They billed me .09 cents after I rounded my water bill up paying more than owed. They won’t return calls or emails. The regional management team is worse. They just ignore your complaints. Instead you get letters from their attorneys. You will regret renting from this company.

  20. Guest Says:

    do not rent from Haselhorst properties in Springfield Mo because they don,t take care of their property. like picking up trash cutting their grass every six weeks halls stink and have lots of food stains on carpet. never picked up leaves when i lived there for a year plus when ice or snow came they never took care of it, roof was always leaking because gutters were not cleaned out most of the time after i moved in they very rude, called the city but they did not do nothing.plus the mold and when it came to repairs in the apartment most of them did not get done .

  21. Guest Says:

    i’d like to know if the laws aare different for mobile homes, when you own, but rent the lot.we are treated like second rate citzen.

  22. Guest Says:

    Don’t rent at Cameron Creek Apartments!!!

    May 29 I noticed that when I washed my clothes the water was not draining properly. The water started to come through the living room wall. I called the apartment emergency line and left a message. The maintenance man called back saying he lived in Arlington and it wasn’t considered an emergency. I called the office on Friday morning and told them about the problem. They said someone would be out. I got home Friday around 4:30 and no one came by. I called the office again and she said someone would be out. They came out and poured some liquid in the pipes. It didn’t fix the problem. When I washed my clothes, water came back into my washer and my kitchen sink. I called the emergency line and no one returned my call. I called Saturday morning and I was told someone would be out. At 3:30 no one had shown up so I called again. Maintenance showed up and said he couldn’t fix it but would get a plumber there on Monday. I told him that they would need to fix it because I have to go somewhere else to wash my clothes. He got a plumber to come out about 8p.m. I left the apartment and didn’t return until 7 a.m. on Sunday morning. When I got home the dining room, both closets, and my kitchen was soaking wet. Plus the carpet people turned my heater on all night. So I had a hot apartment with soagy smelly carpet. The carpet was torn up around the edges and no one left a work order to tell me what happened. So I went to th office at 12p.m. but they weren’t open yet. Maintenance came to my apartment at 12:45 and told me when the plumber disconnected my pipes the guy upstairs started washing his clothes and that is what flooded my apartment. I went to the office and said someone needs to fix my carpet. They should replace it because it is unsanitary to live in. She said someone would come out. No one came out. Monday I went in to the office again to speak with the manager and she said her maintenance supervisor would come out. He smelled the apartment as soon as he walked in and knew someone messed up. I left and when I came back, they put a fan in the dining room to dry the carpet and turned on my a.c. I called the office and asked them why this is on my expense and not the apartments? Angie, the manager, said Cherie we have to dry the carpet somehow. She also said they would fix my carpet on Tuesday. Tuesday came and went and no one came by. I called Tuesday evening and Angie said someone was supposed to come out. They finally came Wednesday and replaced the carpet padding and put the carpet back. I asked Angie if I could be reimbursed for the electricity and me having to live at my mom’s for a few days. She said they would give me $25. I wanted to know if they could do anything else. She got an attitude with me stating she has done what she could and asked if I had renters insurance. I said no because I didn’t know this would happen. Angie said,” Well we didn’t know this would happen either.” I said I understand but I am paying to rent this apartment. I asked why can’t I be reimbursed for the days I wasn’t here and Angie said,” What do you do when you go out of town on vacation?” I told her I can’t go on vacation that’s why I live in this place. She told me to take it up with Kim Wynne, the district manager. I called Kim several times and left messages and she won’t return my call. Plus I have not received $25 from them. I need someone to help me.

  23. Guest Says:

    Do not rent from Villas of Montabella in Peoria AZ
    These apartments are infested with cockroaches. There are several repairs that they said they would fix when I moved in, but a year later, they still have not done any of the repairs, despite my calls. Also, the pool is kept locked up on weekends and in the evenings because some people do not follow the rules. Instead of some people being banned from the pool, we ALL have to pay for their mistakes. I was also told that the shorts I bought to wear in the pool (Yes, that would be swim shorts!) are not allowed to be worn in the pool because they are cotton. The tag indicates they are not 100% cotton, by the way. What really upsets us is the behavior of the “lady” who works in the office. She is incredibly rude and uncoopertive. I am also extremely uspet about the roaches, the animal waste all over the grounds, and the garbage that litters the parking lot. Also, I would suggest doing a criminal check before moving in. (Although please avoid living here at all costs!) But the police are here almost every night! Its a ghetto. Plain and simple. PS The address is 10860 N 85th Ave Peoria AZ 85345

  24. Guest Says:

    Don’t rent from Deer Park Management in Bloomington, IN, a company that runs several “student ghetto” apartment complexes including College Mall Apartments. They don’t return any security deposits nor do any maintenance on the apartments or common areas and you will end up with teenage students and their friends terrorizing you at all hours. The management is rude, nasty and greedy and will make up lies about you to try to make you pay more money or leave. They are horrible!

  25. Guest Says:

    *DO NOT RENT FROM THE PARK *

    The park in winter park florida is a terrible place to live. you will wish you lived in a dumpster. everything is rotten and broken and painted over. maintenance is 2 guys for hundreds, i imagine, of complaints daily. check them out on apartmentratings.com

  26. Guest Says:

    Don’t rent from Crosswinds Apartments at 14810 Crosswinds Drive Houston, Texas 77032. Take the reviews very seriously. It is dope infested. you can walk out of your door and smell Marijuana. They are roach infested and sewer stink is all over the place. Just a nice haven for drug addicts. The so call Security have all the thugs cell phone numbers. Very personal Huh? I moved here in January 01, 2008 and tried like mad to stay until my lease is over but i can’t. I am seeking a new apartment and taking all reviews serious. Please do the same.

  27. Guest Says:

    Thanks for this information. I didn’t know they exist. It’s bad in apartments sometimes. Seem like all they want is your money. I will be sure to make a note of this information.

  28. Guest Says:

    I also reside in a Mobilehome Park and thought that I would pass along some “info.” In regards to the laws, we have an office titled “Department of Housing and Community Development” here in California. I don’t know where you might live. We also have within this department, an “Ombudsman” that acts as a negotiator between mobilehome owners and management (on site and the management company) The phone number for both of these is 1-800-952-5275. There is also a paperback info booklet published for us called Mobilehome Residency Law and has all most of your mobilehome residential laws in it. This booklet is free and also available on the internet for you to read and/or print out. If you don’t live in California, I would call the 800 number I provided and ask if they can direct you to where you need to go. Best of luck. Questions…you can contact me at Leedybean2004@yahoo.com. Toodles

  29. Guest Says:

    do not rent at bala desert scape in mesa az!!! I was yelled at and called names for no reason at all?? the management is psycho. I have been woken up at any time in the night by nebors. there is dog crap all over the property. I could go on for ever with this but i will keep it short.

  30. Guest Says:

    ASHFORD MEADOWS AT HERNDON, VA.
    You can find a better place else where. Don’t waste your time or money.

    MANAGEMENT: They lie. They will tell you one price and then weeks later they will leave a note on the door saying that you need to pay more money. The notice (normally less than 24 hours) that they will be entering the apartment for their regular checks. They recently replaced sprinkler heads and the workers left paint chips everywhere.

  31. Guest Says:

    dont rent from cavender manor if you cant take the heat.AC dosent work properly in all units.we were told if its 100 outside it would be 80 inside 80 would be nice ours wont say under 85 in texas its unbearable…………

  32. Guest Says:

    Get the news media’s attention and have them come and do your story. Plus too sounds like there could be mold–this would put the owner in default and you can get out of your lease.

  33. Guest Says:

    DO NOT RENT FROM THE MOORINGS AT MESA DRIVE

    MGT at The Moorings on Mesa Cove which is at 1233 N Mesa Dr. will charge for carpet that was supposed to be changed due to age. When I lived there the apartment was flooded twice and they were supposed to change the carpet. They did not change it. When I decided to move out of the apartment they decided to charge me for the carpet change. I had lived there for 3 years already the carpet was 2 years old according to the Mgr who rented the apt and now they lie and state that the carpet was not old at all. I wonder how many people has this company stolen from.

    DO NOT RENT FROM THE MOORINGS AT MESA COVE

  34. Guest Says:

    Don’t rent from Normandie Brownstone Apartments in Rochester, NY. It is horrible!!!

  35. Guest Says:

    Don’t Rent at Broadstone River’s Edge.
    Lake Elsinore, CA
    When we came to Broadstone River’s Edge we spoke with the leasing agent and explained to her our current living situation and that we did not want to repeat the same stressful atmosphere. She assured us that living at Broadstone River’s Edge we would not find noise problems, disturbances or loud parties, which frequently happen. We have found her promises to be untrue. While our current problems have been brought to the managements attention, the fact remains that the environment in our apartment is substandard, specifically with regard to the noises generated by neighboring units which still exist. Our complaints, and those of other tenants, of this prohibitive conduct as specified in section 24 of the California Lease Agreement have not changed the situation nor have they provided the “peace and quiet enjoyment” the Broadstone River’s Edge said they were committed to providing.
    First of all, the first day we moved in (06/28/08) our garage door was smashed in and left us to wonder about the safety of its contents. To this day the garage door still remains in this condition. Second, we have had an ant infestation since day three. We notified the office of this problem but nothing has been done about this issue. We spray poison to stop the ants but it only deters them for a day or two and then the problems back again. Third, I fear for the safety of my wife coming to and from the apartment. On two occasions I have witnessed two separate arrests of a tenent or their visitor from this complex. Not only that, we’ve also witnessed suspicious people loitering around the property late at night. We’ve seen people fighting and shouting obsenities at each other, which doesn’t make for a peaceful environment. Fourth, we were told that the gym was open twenty four hours, to only find that the curfew was changed to ten PM due to distruction of property from tenents. Fifth, we fear to park our vehicles in the rear of the complex parking lot due to kids partying and leaving there beer bottles under our vehicles. We have no choice but to park back there since parking is sometimes scarce. Another reason for not wanting to park in the rear is that our vehicles become infested with ants the very next day

  36. Guest Says:

    We have the same kind of manager here at Meridian Palms In Florida. She claims she Is the Highest person to speak with . Shes a Greystar employee.
    I am makeing as much noise as I can. I have filed complaints with Government offices. You can also File a cpmplaint with DBPR. Call the news stations, plaster websites, contact your Representives office in your area. Just dont give up!

  37. Guest Says:

    do NOT rent from Timberoaks Apartment in
    Grand Prairie, TX. They are trying to keep my security deposit. They said I didnt give 60day notice when I talked to the manager months before I was suppose to move and she had me sign a paper saying it was okay for me to move. Now that I have moved….. I called and called and no one picks up the phone. When they do answer they say they will call you back and they never do. Sowhen i asked her when am i going to get my security deposit, she said sept 1. It is now sept 18. So now they are saying they cant find the paper i signed and that I owe them money. 780…… man please.

  38. Guest Says:

    Becareful renting at the Woodbridge Apartments in Fort Wayne, Indiana. They like to enter your apartment at all hours to check things out. They even make comments on your housekeeping and threaten to evict you if you do not meet their standards. I used to have dogs, but because of “so called” complaints from other residents, I was forced to remove them or be evicted. I spoke with my neighbors and nobody complained (only four apartments in my building). I had a heart attack and was in the hospital and my friends were taking care of my dogs (daily). The apartment management threatened to call animal control to have them removed because I was not at home. They also made me replace the carpet because of the dogs (which cost me $800.00). Now that they are gone, they knock on my door constantly to verify the dogs are still gone and I have not brought them back. They now want me to replace the carpet again since the dogs are gone (at my expense). Carpeting that they are going to replace once I move and charge me again for it. I also have numerous repairs that they have not done. I have large holes in my bedroom wall from new cable installation that was done by the apartment community almost 6 months ago and have not been fixed. I also have a large leak in the ceiling in my bathroom that I complained about 3 months ago that has still not been fixed. It pours (like a waterfall) into my bathtub from upstairs. Think twice before renting here. If you do Good Luck.

  39. Guest Says:

    Don’t rent at Woodlands Vllage in Flagstaff,Az. Overpriced, run down and roach infested

  40. Guest Says:

    I totally agree with you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am currently going through a situation where I am owed my security deposit back and he is not giving it back to me. I never moved into the apartment because I started to notice the “shadiness” of the so-called landlord when he didnt clean the apartment BEFORE I wanted to move in.

    Plus some other stuff that they were doing. I never moved in, and I requested my security deposit yet. It has been 3 weeks and they keep dodging me and giving me the run around.

  41. Guest Says:

    Don’t rent from the Lynd Company in Denton, Texas. They manage the following apartment complexes: Timber Links, La Colina, Woodhill, and Ridgecrest.

    The apartment complex that I live in switched management companies a few months ago. The new company, Lynd Co., seems to be trying to squeeze every last penny out of the residents here.

    One of the things that had initially appealed to me about living at Timber Links is that the apartment complex is located next to a golf course. When I first started living here, the residents could play for free. Since Lynd Co. has taken over, they’ve started charging the residents here to play on our own golf course.

    There have been several other unexpected fees as well. After I had first moved in, my water bill was between $10-$20 per month. Now, the water bill is split between everybody in the apartment complex and my bill has gone up to over $35 per month. I believe that one of the reasons for this is because Lynd Co. wastes so much water. Some of the sprinkler heads look like they’re broken but they continue to water with them anyway. More water ends up in the parking lot than ends up on the grass but the Lynd Co. people don’t care because they aren’t paying the bills – we are. I think that they are also making the residents pay to water the golf course now too (which is really unfair if you think about it because we can no longer use the golf course for free like we could with the previous management company).

    In the past month, they’ve started charging everyone a monthly $45 ‘convenience fee’ for having cable. We are already paying the cable company (Primecast) for service, so I don’t understand how Lynd can justify double-billing everyone like this. There has also been talk of them charging $15 per vehicle per month just to park in our own parking lot.

    Understandably, there are quite a few residents here who are upset with Lynd right now because they keep dumping all of these costs on us and then they expect us to just happily pay for everything, no questions asked. Complaining to the office staff does absolutely no good – most of them have no idea what’s going on or if they do have an answer for you, they’ll all tell you something different. I haven’t been able to get any answers from Lynd’s regional manager either. Because of all of these billing issues and because of several other problems that I’ve had with this new this management company, I will not be renewing my lease. I can’t wait to get as far away from these people as possible.

  42. Guest Says:

    Avoid Chase Heritage Apartments in Sterling, Virginia.

    I have had nothing but problems with this establishment since we moved in. Unfortunately we are professionals who had to move here for a job and rented based on internet referrals. We didn’t see the apartment. Now we regret not coming here first and delaying the first day of work.

    Oh, lets discuss the first day we moved here. We traveled from Denver, CO to Sterling, VA. Arrived here at 2am. They had agreed to leave my apartment unlocked and keys and documents in the freezer. We get here. It’s locked. Then we look at our paperwork. They have us renting 2 different apartments. So my husband goes to the other apartment. Locked. We end up calling management at 2am and getting them out of bed. They had gone and unlocked the WRONG APARTMENT and put our keys in their freezer (So the apartment being furnished wasn’t enough for them to say, hmmm). The other man ended up calling the police and leaving these apartments because of the horrible incident. Not that I can blame him!!

    1. Roaches. Many apartments have roaches. We hired our own exterminator to rid ourselves of the problem after a month of complaining. My neighbor doesn’t have the money and has lived with these roaches for 6 months. They are literally crawling all over the place. Totally disgusting.

    2. I enjoy decorating my living space. Their contractors destroyed 3/4 of my outdoor decorations. Even going as far as chopping up potted plants.

    3. They TOW your cars for no reason. They CLAIM they have a valid reason but rarely will prove it. They also don’t TELL YOU that they towed your car. My car has been towed three times. The towing company they use is horrible and unprofessional. They will leave you sitting outside for multiple hours waiting on them to come.

    4. They lost our lease. They CLAIM we didn’t sign one and I know we did. They had told us at the time that they would copy it and get it to us and we never got it. 6 months later we get a bill for over $1000 claiming that we never signed a lease (How many apartments do you know would wait 6 months??). So in order to deal with the issue we are now obligated for a YEAR AND 6 MONTHS in our lease.

    5. Gangs. Let’s see. A person was stabbed in the view of my apartment window. 3 murders in my neighborhood. 2 murders on the trail behind our complex. Enough said?

    6. More crime. Car has been broken into 2X. Many things have been stolen from my neighbors.

    7. RUDE MANAGEMENT. They are insufferably rude. They come across with this holier than thou attitude that makes you just want to tell them where to go.

    8. Packages are delivered to the office which has standard business hours. Meaning… if you actually have a job, you have to wait til the weekend to get your package. If it comes on a Monday, you get a note on Thursday that your package will be returned to sender if you don’t come to pick it up by Friday.

    9. NO SNOW REMOVAL. 2 winters here, no snow removal. To the point of being hazardous to my disabled neighbor and my husband has fallen several times.

    If you still want to try out Chase Heritage Apartments, make sure you have everything in WRITING or recorded. I now carry a digital recorder to make sure EVERYTHING has a trail and all communication is via certified mail. My home has video and audio surveilence and I am not messing around. The employees may be nice, but nice doesn’t matter if the management gives you orders.

  43. Guest Says:

    Don’t rent At all At Woodland Apartments they suck the building is sinking my apartment is in preatty bad conditions I been complaining for ever Woodland apartmens are the worst Nightmare I ever had I live in East Palo Alto used to be a really bad neighbor hood but this apartments they still in a preatty bad condition they need to take care of this issue other wise No body is going to be happy at this apartmens in East Palo Alto Ca Woodland apartments REALLY SUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  44. Guest Says:

    Do not rent form Sterling Point in Flagstaff AZ. When you go in to sign a lease they lead you to believe that a portion of your deposit is refundable, by calling it a “refundable security deposit” don’t be fooled by this. Instead of returning the deposit to you they claim that they use it to repaint the walls and steam clean the carpet. Even if your apartment looks as good as the day you moved in. When the manager came to inspect my aparrtment he actually mentioned that, “it is the cleanest apartment he has ever done an inspection on, it doesn’t look like anyone has lived here.” But still they charge you to repaint the walls, which costs $250 and clean the carpet, $60+.
    Cleaning the carpet I can understand, even though we had steam cleaned it like 3 times and never wore our shoes inside, that does not matter. You might as well trash the place because they will nickle and dime you when you leave anyway. So though they say it is a “refundable deposit, it is not. There is actually no way to move out of this place and not owe the company money!

  45. Guest Says:

    DON’T RENT AT THE LANDINGS,BETHLEHEM,PA
    THEY OVERCHARGE YOU FOR VERY OLD APPARTMENTS AND
    YOU NEVER GET BACK YOUR SECURITY DEPOSIT.
    IF YOU ASK FOR THAT YOU’LL GET OTHER FEES NONREASONABLE.THEY DON’T ACCEPT TO BE CRITICIZED,
    BE CAREFULL

  46. Guest Says:

    STAY AWAY FROM RIVERVIEW GRANDE – CHATTANOOGA
    If you care about your health, do not live here. The mold will give you lots of problems. The management will not care.

  47. Guest Says:

    Totally agree. Avalon communities want your rent, don’t upkeep their properties, and are staffed by employees who don’t seem to know anything about policies and procedures of corporate.

    ALSO, don’t sign up for auto-payments of rent. They use a company called White Fence that is impossible to get on the phone, and will take rent payments even after you clear your bank data. I tried to discontinue because I am moving – all of my rent was always on time – and because of issues with White Fence my rent ended up late. Staff did not care, and when I shared with them the email trail between myself and THEIR payment service they did not care. FINALLY White Fence admitted their mistake, and did I get any apology….NO, I got a letter slipped under my door that I should pay my rent or get out!

    STAY AWAY FROM AVALON COMMUNITIES!!!!

  48. Guest Says:

    Think Hard-Twin Oaks Village in MA

    It is okay. Just know that if you have a complaint about other tenants fighting and being extremely loud, do not waste your time talking to —– (who is with Management).

    Had a situation when I was living there and he was not professional in dealing with the tenants who were always fighting, yelling and stomping. Each time you complain it will only get worse (and low and behold he was friends with the tenant). So there is no anonymity.

    These were not heavy walkers or occasionally fighters. These were people who should be classified as unruly people that should not be allowed to live in apartments with people who live above, beside or below them. SERIOUSLY. If you were sleeping during anytime of the day you would be awaken at any given time to the tenants ridiculous nonsense. They fought at least once a month. The huge fights would occur every 3 months with the shouting, stomping, fighting and anything else you can think of. The walls are not insulated well or made so that you can have some kind of privacy when talking. YES you can hear other apartments surrounding you with people snoring. SERIOUSLY.

    The rent is good, that is what allowed me to stay for so long. The ONLY thing but when you factor in the banter of other tenants invading your private space early in the morning or late late night. I would say STAY AS FAR AWAY FROM TWIN OAKS VILLAGE. Remember any complaint you make will only get worse as —– may be a friend to the tenant you complain about.

    At first I would have recommended this community, but now after experiencing what I had and knowing that when I had guest over they too were annoyed and disgusted by the outright noise. I would NEVER recommend this place. Too Bad.

    Signing off,
    Do not waste your time.

  49. Guest Says:

    Wow:
    What a difference, I currently live in one of their properties near MSU and they are great. We had a problem with our garbage dispasal and called and they were out the same day. As far as the yardwork, we live in one of their Houses and they are great, mowed like once a week all summer long and even picked up our trash from our party. I recommend Haselhorst to all my frineds and many have moved in with them and no problems.

  50. Guest Says:

    DO NOT rent from SRM properties in Sedona, AZ they will deceive you. mislead you. Tell you anything you want take your money and then never answer when theirs a problem….the ladies name is Carol totally unprofessional

  51. Guest Says:

    I second that!!! Whatever you do, do not rent from Sterling Pointe Apartments. We have had problem after problem! They tow with no warning. My sisteraccidently parked in a covered spot for 1 hour and came back to no car.My little sisters car got snowed into a none covered spot and luckly my dad was coming to dig her out and beat the tow truck there. Both with no warning! You get fined for any and everything you do! There are only a handful of places you can actually park. The dog trash bags were snowed in for weeks and they werefining people for not cleaning up after their dogs. Well noone could since they failed to dig out a path to the poop bags.They are constantly watching everything you do! Nightmare!!!!! There management is so RUDE!!! They have mantaince guys living on the premises so they can keep an eye on you! CREEPY! If you want issues and constant supervision this the place for you! One of the maintance people tried walking into my apartment uninvited. Seriously just started opening the door! I’m not the only one that has happened to either! ANyone I talk to that lives here HATES it! I could go on for days but I think you get the point!

  52. Guest Says:

    Deer creek manor apartments in williamston MI is another one that is dangerous to rent from. The place itself is ok, but the service and management is the worst.

  53. Guest Says:

    Have you ever live in a place where your apartment is in bad conditions and it hard to get it fix? Well if you want that environment this is the place to live! The manager has the worst customer service you can image. U don’t only speck to the manger in charged put the spouse who is a rude person with no sense of customer service or tends to want to accommodate you. They have normal business hours that are never met, in which from 9a.m- 5 p.m If you call for manager attendance you will only receive a voice mail and get a call back from the manager until 8p.m. through 9 p.m. those are not normal hours if you ask a tenants. Tenants come and go due to this bad management and the lack of repairs. They have a laundry facility that should be open Tues- Sun. But you ask tenants and they will advise you, that this laundry facility is never open. How could Management Company, afford to have this kind of apartment manager service in their facility and afford to have so many tenants come and go from these apartments? After a tenant moves they only shampoo the carpet. They only fix the appearance to make the apartment livable.
    Park Elliot Apartments
    14354 Amar Rd
    La Puente, CA 91744
    626-918-0376

  54. guest Says:

    do not rent from penzel apartments in upper darby PA THERE SUPR IS ALWAYS DRUNK AND HE DOES NOT NAKE THE REPAIRS ON TIME. NO ONE AT PENZEL APARTMENTS KNOW WHO THE OWNER IS, AND NO ONE CAN SPEAK TO HIM. EVERYTHING HAS TO GO THROUGH THE SUPER WHO HALF OF THE TIME IS STONE COLD DRUNK

  55. Yan Lin Says:

    I am nicely warning everybody never stay with the apartment “The Meadows”
    in bay area. The quality of the room is awful, and the rent is much higher
    than other apartment nearby, even more, the Office numbers are horrible
    to deal with.

    The address of “The Meadows” is 1000 Escalon Ave., Sunnyvale, CA 94086

    Three horrible things happened in my short stay since last Mid June.

    1. They promised that the construction of pool ended in Sep08, we felt it
    was not too long after we moved in so we signed the lease and moved in in
    Mid June. However, the constriction was not finished until early Dec08.
    Our apartment is close to the pool, and the drilling noise got me a bad
    bad headache.
    I complained with office manager, she didn’t apologize at all, and also
    said they didn’t have control on the length of the construction and they
    would have more constructions, which they didn’t mentioned before we signed
    the lease. She also didn’t allow us to move out early without penalty.

    2. In Sep08, I found a huge nail embed in the bottom of the concrete door
    frame, tip up. I was very scared, because I have a 13-month old baby, who
    was just learning walking. What if she stepped on the nail?! What if she
    fell onto the nail?! Even us could step on it sometimes.
    However, when I talked to the office manager, she looked so calm, and again
    without any apology, she said it was our responsibility to watch the baby
    to make sure she wouldn’t step onto the nail and it’s our responsibility
    to make sure her safety before the problem has been fixed.

    3. Early this morning (2/5/2009) at 1:42am, I specially checked time because
    I was extremely angry when this accident happened! My husband went to
    restroom around that time, and right after he entered the restroom and turned
    on the light, I heard a “bong” sound, and ran out to check, I found thousands
    of pieces of broken glass on the floor in front of the bedroom door. The
    glass was the cover of the light on the ceiling of the hall way (my husband
    didn’t turn this light on). If my husband was 2 sounds later, this would
    break his head. It’s very hard to clean the floor completely since the tiny
    pieces are everywhere!
    Again, I went to office this morning even though it’s useless, I have to
    let them know we didn’t break their property, we are victims, and my husband
    was almost hurt. But Yes, it was useless!!! The manager was still very cold
    with such horrible thing happened in the Mid-Night in my home! She even
    suspected us, she said, “This never happened before”. Of course, no apology
    at all!!!

    We have been living in many other apartments in other states, but this is
    the first time I met so many troubles in an apartment in such a short time,
    and this is the worst lease office I’ve ever seen that is so cold blooded
    to its renters.

  56. Anonymous Says:

    DON’T RENT FtROM AXIS APARTMENTS AT NINE MILE IN DENVER/AURORA COLORADO, THIS GROUP OF PEOPLE ARE OUTRAGOUSLY GREEDY AND INCONSIDERATE OF THE TENENTS. THE ASSISTANT MANAGER IS A REAL WITCH. SHE IS THE MOST EVILEST PERSON I HAVE EVERY MAT. THEY ARE OVERLY EXPENSIVE AND CRUDE. THEY APPEAR NICE BUT ONLY WANT YOUR MONEY. AND THEIR LATE FEES OUR OUTRAGOUS. THEY LOOK GOOD ON THE SURFACE BUT SUCK ONCE YOU GET INSIDE GOOD. STAY AWAY!!!!!

  57. Mad Renter Says:

    DON’T RENT FROM BEHG PROPERTIES INC. in WESTERN, NEW YORK!…GRAND ISLAND, NY! They do not make repairs. I have had a leak, every time it rains and they did nothing to fix it. The garbage disposal doesn’t work, there are no nobs on the cabinets in the kitchen, there are only TWO LIGHT FIXTURES in the apartment…one in the kitchen and one in the bathroom. You will need lamps for the two other rooms. They were nice, at first, but now they are nothing but down right snobs, cheaters and thieves. We are moving out…thank god…and now they are the worst bunch of jerks that we have lived under. You also cannot find any information on them in the local phone books either, yet, they have supposedly had this property since NOVEMBER OF 2006!! They have an email address at YAHOO! What kind of professional business does that?

    We have also had problems with previous tenants and their kids, stomping down the stairs, screaming up a storm, making our dogs bark and we are getting the blame for it. A new tenant has moved in, right across from us, and she did it at 1 AM!! She is a bit of snob herself as well! And we got a call from Russell and this was back in February 2009. We just got word YESTERDAY (April 8th, 2009) about how we are not being fined for the dogs “barking”. I tried to tell them in February what was going on and was not able to state my peace.

    They own two different properties that we know of…one on Grand Island Boulevard…called Grand Island Manor and one on Baseline Road, called Baseline Manor. Two of the owners live out of state…one of them lives in California and his name is Russ! The other one, Brad Engel, does not live in New York State either…yet the address that they use is:

    BEHG Properties Inc.
    5140 Main Street, Unit 303, Box 337
    Williamsville, NY 14221

    If I could put their phones number here, I would! DON’T RENT FROM THEM!! You will be VERY SORRY if you do!!

  58. Sick Renter Says:

    Don’t dare to rent from the heights Luxury apartments in Los Angeles Ca. 7077 Alvern st La Ca 90045. Nothing will get fixed. They don’t get responsibility of problems happening in their complex. Bad management, they change managers often but nothing gets fixed.

  59. Tonya Says:

    PLEASE DO NOT RENT FROM TNT PROPERTY MANAGEMENT IN BLACKSBURG, VA THEY ARE CROOKS AND WILL STEEL YOUR MONEY TO PAY FOR THEIR UPGRADES!!!!! They are RUDE and DISRESPECTFUL and are a bunch of thieves!!!!! DO NOT RENT

  60. Jenna Says:

    DO NOT RENT FROM PARKSIDE TERRACE APARTMENT IN SAN JOSE. THE PROPERTY MANAGEMENT IS VPM INC.

  61. Smackdabinthemiddle Says:

    A couple of post here say don’t view your gates as security gates.Then what are they suppose to be? Limited access means that you would only get to access the gates on a limited basis.I can access my gates anytime of the day or night,so i wouldn’t call them “Limited”.As for the gates where i live,they are totally worthless.The management has set the timing up on the gates because they are tired and lazy and don’t won’t to hastle with replacing the broken bar that crosses in front of the gates.I hate when people tailgate you in!You can’t stop them from doing it because the bar will stay up as long as it thinks that there is a car coming through.It’s just another reason for the apartments to charge for having that amenity and for the access cards/remotes.Security gates are totally worthless unless they work properly for one car at a time and most apartments don’t have this issue solved,because they get tired of having to come out of that air conditioned office to do some physical work.Back when i was a kid,i don’t ever remeber anyone at any apartments having the luxury of cruising around in a golf cart to get some paperwork to the mailbox.

  62. Anonymous Says:

    DO NOT RENT @ PARK RIDGE TOWNNOMES IN ARLINGTON, TEXAS…..property owed by CLARUS PROPERTIES…PORTLAND, OR!
    They are too cheap to hire or pay real maintance people!

  63. DON't RENT Says:

    AVALON COMMUNITY uses false advertising and lies to get you to travel to their sites. Prices listed on their site are not accurate. The prices and blueprints don’t match what they ask of you once your on the property. SOUNDS LIKE SOMEONE I WOULD NEVER WANT TO LIVE WITH or have in charge of the property I rent. You never know when they are being honest.

  64. DONt RENT Says:

    Avalon Communities use false advertising to drive you to their sites, in hopes that hey can get consumers to rent for higher. Their web site list blueprints with one price, and their agents quote you the same, but when you get hteir its very differnt. The blueprints and prices listed on their site are all wrong and have nothing to do with one another, they might as well not even list them. SOUND LIKE SOME ONE I WOULD NEVER WANT TO LIVE WITH, or RENT FROM. Very dishonest.

  65. guest Says:

    yes i what to say to everyone please do not rent at hunters chase apartments in houston they are the worst aparmtnets ever speacially the staff in the office and the maintance never do there job my A/C broke down on me since monday night and its thursday and nothing to be fix i reported 3 times already and is so hot right now i dont know what else to but file a complain or call the fire department but DO NOT RENT THERE….

  66. never rent Says:

    dont rent park center apartments …it sucks your blood

  67. UnKnown Says:

    If you live at California, DO NOT RENT AT 1600 BUCHANAN GARDENS APARTMENT. The manager’s wife acts like as if she’s the manager when she isn’t. She complains about everything and she always in everyone’s business. She sticks her nose and shet. She acts like as if she’s a cop. She threatens people alot and says that she’s going to evict them. So be careful.

  68. Livid Renter! Says:

    I live on the first floor of a 2 floor apartment building. Water literally starting pouring from the ceilings in my living room, dining area, bedroom, and closet. The toilet in the vacant apartment above me had a pipe or something that broke. The second floor apartment flooded which is what caused all of the water to start pouring into my apartment. Thankfully none of my stuff was badly damaged (besides water on the couch and bed), but the apartment manager is telling me that all they have to do is “Clean the Carpet” and thats it!!! What about all of the water damage that was done to the ceiling and walls of my apartment? Won’t that cause mold if its not replaced with dry material? Isn’t it the apartment landlords responsibility to get that fixed. I still have 3 months left on my lease and I don’t want to stay in an apartment that smells strongly of mold and mildew since 70% or more of the entire apartments carpet was saturated with water and all they did was vacuum up the water! They did not Clean it or replace it. Shouldn’t they at least let me move into a vacant apartment until my lease is up? If I broke my lease and moved out because of this would I be held responsible for any fees?

  69. Very Happy Resident Says:

    I must say, I do disagree with the review regarding Broadstone River’s Edge. I feel they’ve done a wonderful job and find that the community as a whole is very polite and safe. Very pretty new units – unbelievably energy efficient appliances and Robert the manager is happy, cool and helpful. I moved here from LA where luxury complex’s are astrinomical and most people have to opt for leasing way older units in dilapidated craftsman buildings. It’s been a great experience living in this well maintained, affordable and peaceful complex. Lake Elsinore? who knew?

  70. cheryl Says:

    on thurs. 10/29 i got home abt 3 something me and my 7yr and the water was off in out apt bldg. i couldnt cook, we couldnt bathe, or flush the toilet…i called my landlord and asked if it was off and he said he is looking into it and will call me bk. when he did he said it is and wont be bk on til friday 10/30 at 7:30am well that passed so i called him bk at 8am and he was rude and and so i hung up on him. and decided i better leave and go somewhere me and my son can shower and brush our teeth so we can get to work and school….My question is what recourse do i have legally as a tenant of 5 yrs and my rent is 775.00 i live in the south suburbs. can i do something monetariily like withhold a portion of the rent or what??? please help immed. thx cheryl

  71. Tim Says:

    Do not rent from Hunters Crossing in Leesburg, VA. It is nothing more than a GHETTO/SLUM.

    Mold, roaches, ants, bedbugs not to mention old cruddy carpets. The community is never cleaned. There is trash left all over.

    The management staff is rude and unhelpful.

    The maintenance people are useless and there is one that is downright creepy.

    If safety, cleanliness and decent place are not priorities, then you may may consider this place.

  72. Unhappy exresident Says:

    DO NOT RENT FROM CAMELOT APARTMENTS LOCATED IN RICHARDSON TX…THEY ARE CRUEL PEOPLE AND THEY WILL RIP YOU OFF. I HAD MY A/C BROKE FOR THE WHOLE SUMMER AND THEY KEPT TELLING ME THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT. UNTIL I HAD TO TELL THEM I AM GOING TO GET A PROFESSIONAL OUT THERE TO LOOK AT THE A/C THEY JUMPED ON IT AND FOUND THE PROBLEM…2 MONTH WITH NO COLD AIR ONLY WARM AIR…ON TOP OF THAT I HAVE TWO KIDS LIVING THERE.

  73. Responsible Renter Says:

    At all cost, avoid renting from Midwest Property Management in Lawrence KS. I HATE THEM!!!!!! It is 60 degrees in my apartment becasue I don’t have heat. Somone has been to my apartment 3 times over the past 2 months and the problem has not had a long-term fix. People don’t pick up their dog crap, as is the rule if you want to have a dog, and management doesn’t do anything about it. The first thing they did though was entering my house one morning right after I moved in, I was sleeping and was not notified someone was going to be going by all the apartments. After this I wanted a security lock for when I am home like I had at my last apartment and they told me I couldn’t install one nor would they. I really do like my apartment (if only I had heat) but this company is HORRIBLE!!!!!

  74. Disturbing Says:

    STAY AWAY FROM WILLOW RIDGE APARTMENTS IN CHARLOTTE, NC. I PAID MY RENT LATE IN THE MONTH OF NOVEMBER AND THEY TRIED TO EVICT ME FOR THE $150 COURT COST WHEN IT ONLY COST THEM $90 TO FILE. THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY FILED ON THE 11/30 AND THAT THE SHERIFF WOULD COME ON 12/14 TO LOCK ME OUT. I WENT TO THE COURTHOUSE AND FOUND OUT THEY ACTUALLY DISMISSED MY CLAIM WITHOUT PREJUDICE. SO THEY LIED TO MY FACE AND I ALMOST MOVED OUT. THEY DIDNT THINK THAT I WAS SMART ENOUGH TO GO AND CHECK FOR MYSELF. THIS APARTMENT IS A GREAT LOCATION AND THE RENT IS PRETTY CHEAP BUT THEY TREAT YOU AS SUCH. STAY AWAY

  75. Anonymous Says:

    dont rent at 40-53 61 street apartments….woodside NY…… they take advantage of people who doesn’t know any better… they don’t have organize management, no proper superintendent/ represntetive in the building…. soooo shady if it’s about money. they get your money and don’t fix anything, they fix it after months…. they don’t have proper safety on there tenants…. if a fire department representative comes and check the safety of the tenants they will fail big time….NYFD…please read this check our apartment for safety….hope your read this before you do..

  76. Gues Says:

    I hate Avalon Communities. Now I even hate Essex Proporties too!

  77. Anonymous Says:

    Why do owners hire really stupid rude girls like the ones at Limestone Apts Houston, TX It doesnt matter how pretty tha apartments are

  78. Jose Santana Says:

    DO NOT RENT ANY APARTMENTS OR HOUSES FROM P.J. HUSSEY IN ARIZONA. THEY ARE A TERRIBLE COMPANY THAT FORGETS ABOUT THEIR TENENTS ONE LEASE IS SIGNED. I HAVE CALLED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS TO GET BASIC THINGS FIXED IN MY APARTMENT AND HAVE RECIEVED LITTLE TO NO RESPONCES FROM P.J. HUSSEY. DON’T RENT FROM THEM OR YOU WILL BE EXTREMELY DISSAPOINTED..

  79. Anonymous Says:

    DO NOT RENT FROM SHAKER SQARE APARTMENTS IN WHITEHALL, OHIO. THEY HAVE A BED BUGS AND ANT PROBLEM. I WISH WE NEVER STEPPED FOOT IN THIS APARTMENT.

  80. ANONYMOUS Says:

    DO NOT RENT FROM SHAKER SQUARE APARTMENTS IN COLUMBUS, OHIO. THEY HAVE A BEDBUG AND ANT PROBLEM. I WISH WE NEVER STEPPED INTO THIS APARTMENT.

  81. FORMER RESIDENT Says:

    WE WERE TOLD TO VACANT OUR 3BR APARTMENT AT MEADOWOOD APARTMENTS ON RICE RD IN ANTIOCH TN BECAUSE MY HUSBAND LOST HIS JOB. WE HAD NEVER MISSED PAYING OUR RENT. WE PUT UP A $250 SECURITY DEPOST PLUS A $600 PET DEPOSIT WITH $300 BEING NON-REFUNDABLE. THEY ALSO CHARGED US EXTRA $20 A MONTH FOR PET RENT. WHEN WE MOVED I LEFT THE APARTMENT IN CLEAN CONDITION. THEY TOLD US WE HAD TO MOVE IN 15 DAYS WHICH WE DID BUT NOW THEY ARE NOT REFUNDING OUR DEPOSIT. I HAVE BEEN TOLD BY SEVERAL OTHER RESIDENTS THERE THAT THIS COMPANY HAS BEAT THEM OUT OF THEIR MONEY ALSO. SO IF YOU DO DECIDE TO RENT FROM SHAFNER PROPERTIES BEWARE THAT YOU WILL LOSE YOUR DEPOSITS. LAST YEAR THEY WERE RUNNING A SPECIAL TO MOVE IN FOR $99 SO SOME PEOPLE DON’T HAVE ALOT TO LOSE. WE WERE ONLY TRYING TO BE FAIR. IF I HAD KNOWN THIS I WOULD HAVE STAYED. THEY WENT AGAINST THE LANDLORD AND TENENT ACT WHERE THEY HAD TO GIVE US 30 DAY NOTICE. THEY EXPECT THE SAME FROM THE RESIDENTS. JUST TO WARN YOU.

  82. Guest Says:

    Do not rent from Enclave on Golden Triangle in Fort Worth. Complaints will be ignored, whether you sustain damage to your vehicle from work done on the property, vandalism to your car, your ID compromised from mail box theft, never find parking, or from noise.

    It will all be ignored completely.

  83. Anonymous Says:

    Chase Heritage Apts Sterling va –stay away!! filthy, filthy, filthy

  84. nobody Says:

    1198n.st.augugustine lets people at _____lake june apts.___&___get by with everything. stomping, screaming, loud-stupid stinking music, hitting walls, floor/ceiling,breaking”curfew”,at all hours!10 p.m. curfew not being followed! loud -crazy music too!this is hateful.

  85. nobody Says:

    also no sleep, and manager ignores us. do not rent in”pleasant”grove.it is not pleasant here!so there!

  86. melissa cambell Says:

    Shaker Square apartments in Whitehall Ohio have a bed bug infestation. Aren’t they required to inform their residents? The bugs travel from unit to unit – shared laundry facilities – pipes – cracks in walls — on animals and visiters. I know they have had them a while. I only know I have them because I checked after hearing at least 4 other residents are infested. They should have informed us to help us protect ourselves. They should be treating the entire complex – even if it’s expensive – it’s going to take a lot of work to remove them and not get them back. They were kept a secret on purpose and I am disgusted. The only way to prevent is to increase awareness. It’s an epidemic but people just don’t know it.

  87. Donna Tracanna Says:

    I live in Coachman Manor in Lindenwold, NJ. They have a severe bedbug infestation. They have sent an exterminator out 5 times and I swear they are using water. What do I do to file a complaint against the apartment bilding.

  88. Roopa Says:

    Can someone kindly let us know as we are in great trouble. Actually we invested a very huge amount called TUSCANNY TERRACES in Neral, Mumbai 3 years back. The builder had promised us it will be ready by Dec 2008 and now it is 2010. We invested in it as we were told it’s a Studio apartment with 5 star amenities and you will get rent back policy which we just got for a year i.e Rs. 100000 and later they stopped all communication and also the construction is pending for years now as they say they are no funds to progress but by next Dec u will get the possession which is not at all true. Every year they say this. The problem is that we are going through financial crisis and we have to pay EMI of Rs. 22,000 per month without fail. Every time we visit the place we get such pain as even a brick is not moved to progress. Kindly someone what can be done with this issue as we had invested in it with the hope of getting a rent back policy and also sell the studio when the prices hike but now we are repenting every day for the bulky EMI’s we are paying. Please someone guide us what to do.

  89. from an unhappy person Says:

    Do not come and rent an apartment on delta court apartment in fairfield ca, the people that work here are NO GOOD!!!!!! the manager all she does is stay on the office all day she doesnt come out to ckeck when there a problem or loud people and everything, the last manager did well we miss her hope we can have her back she had everyone on check ;) the maintnence guy here SUPER S&$* a$$ bad and his family to they can do anything they want and get away with it all the time and the manager and owner knows how they are and its not fair for us and his son is the one no one likes hes a little wanabe gang banger lol who writes all over the complex and again the owner knows thats him he smokes weed and drink and gives it to the miners here to how we know because he does it in front of every one but they still i want then out RAJ SHARMA

  90. frustrated renter Says:

    Do not rent from Hampton Halls Apts in Taylors, SC. They do not fix stuff unless you complain at least 3-4 times. They act as though you are bothering them if you call, like you work for them instead of the other way around. I have lived there for years and my air-conditioner has only worked for one year out of the many years I have been there. No improvements are ever made, unless you move out…I have lived here for years and they have only painted twice…the first time they broke something and the second time a camera was stolen….they said “oh, I’m sorry” they fired the painters for stealing, but did not want to re-imbursed people for property taken…I would move if I could, but rent is so cheap…you get what you pay for…..do not move here, unless you have no other choice. I know people that live here that have not had air-conditioning for years.

  91. douglas Says:

    Please enver rent from the bridge at temple, tx . The apartments are old . the electric bill will be ana vaerage of $200 for single bed room . The management are cheats they try to charge you for every thing.

  92. tired of bs Says:

    Stay away from La Jolla on the Lakes outta Houston, TX… beside the huge rent, you’ll have to pay some extras, like water, garbage, pest control (even if they actually don’t do that), high electric bills, etc. What’s more, you’ll get lots of ants, wasps, lizards, noisy neighbors, scratched cars, bended license plates, dog poop everywhere.

  93. Rosa Says about BEHG Says:

    I rented from BEHG properties for two years and would like to share my experiences I had in the BEHG management.
    You are promised prior to moving in that things will be fixed, this may take a year and withholding your monthly rent until fixed, when you hold payment they immediately find time and cause to quickly fix it.
    Begh properties has a habit of making up their own rental laws they threaten you with additional rent payment to keep you compliant with their rules they make up(ex. if you left your window opened during winter months by law you would have to pay the gas bill which was included in your rent. If you move out before your lease you lose your security regardless of the situation-example death of spouse. If you live in a handicapped apartment you can’t install any handicapped devices and you also need to pay for your own handicapped toilet apartment-even though it is a so called handicapped complex. Oh yea, by the way if you are looking for an handicapped apartment make sure you can climb at least a flight of stairs because there is no other handicapped way to get around!) Beware- know your RENTAL RIGHTS or you will be stomped on!
    Moved out in middle of April (paid for rent until April 30).Apartment rented in end of April to other tenants and I’m still waiting for my promised security going on 8 weeks now. I made sure to clean the apartment prior to move out, filled out move out condition report -no issues found. They promise you the world but only deliver an ulcer and of course in the process take advantage of the elderly!
    Passing the buck from brother to brother is an expertise BEHG PROPERTIES knows! Yes you can call me a 78 year old bitter widow who tried to do the right thing because she had to break the lease 3 months earlier because of the death of her husband!
    So I must say renting from BEGH PROPERTIES has left a sour taste!

    BEHG Properties Inc.
    5140 Main Street, Unit 303, Box 337
    Williamsville, NY 14221

  94. Torie Says:

    Only been at property for 3 weeks. Having Major issues with roaches, complaint about them, and was accused of problems never there tells me that pest control came out several times and never seen any roaches. When I’m spraying every night along with roach bait to try and resolve the issues. Then the shower head broken, leakage in the bathroom, plumbing issues, water is extremely hot to cause scaling ,refrigerator was not clean, and having to pay for products for roaches and bleaching the entire refrigerator. Property says they don’t have anything else available, and unwilling to work with me.

  95. GUEST Says:

    Do Not Rent at Bermuda Isle in Naples, The Management Firm falsifies information regarding the unit in order to not return deposit money.

  96. Anonymous Says:

    Sterling Pointe in Flagstaff AZ – Do not rent here if you want to get your security deposit back. They are deceptive and misleading at the lease signing and falsify documents at the final walk through. This is not a legitimate business.

  97. Guest Says:

    Do not rent at Manchester Green or Huntington Commons, East Center St, Manchester, CT. Horrible management, ’0′ maintenance and mostly section 8. If you’re section 8, you’ll find many others but if you’re not, keep in mind, there are no families, plenty of loud music, dog poop everywhere. Something broken in your apartment will remain broken forever + there are security issues.

  98. Olivia Says:

    Do not rent from Bethany Meadows!!!!!!!!!!!!They are horrible people. The people below me smoke indoors and the smoke comes up to my apartment through the vents. Me and my three year old daughter who has asthma wake up every morning coughing to a room full of smoke. I have put in so many complaints and they haven’t done anything about it. I can’t move til my lease is up I don’t know what to do. For now we live with the window open 24/7 even during the night. I don’t know what’s worse freezing to death or dying of second hand smoking.

  99. Anonymous Says:

    Do not rent apartment at The Advantages Apartments. The management is very irresposible.

  100. TENANT Says:

    STAY AWAY FROM CITRUS GARDENS APARTMENT IN FONTANA CALIFORNIA THIS PLACE IS RUNNED DOWN BY SCANLESS, WELFARE RECEIPIENT TENANTS. MANAGEMENT ARE UNETHICAL!! COMPLAINED NUMEROUS TIMES ABOUT REPAIR NEEDED TO THE HOT AND COLD RUNNING WATER SERVICE NOT BEEING ABLE TO SHOWER COMFORTABLY AS WELL AS OTHER REPAIRS SIMPLY HORRIBLE!!!

  101. military man Says:

    Don’t rent at Waterford Landing in Hoover Alabama the management is a joke and the maintenance is worst. I haven’t had a working Ac unit in 5 months now. They can’t fix anything right I’d they show up at all. Worst place I have lived. Save your money.

  102. chicago Says:

    Please don’t rent from spring grove apartments in chicago Il the management company metroplex is the worst company ever the are doing a so call total rehab it is a joke the company is stilling money the manager is very nasty and so are the people she work with roaches and mice still have control of the building even after the so called rehab.

  103. A Renter Says:

    Let me state that I do not work for or have anything to do with any type of management company.

    I will say that EVERYONE needs to remember to put everything in writing to the landlord or management company. If you don’t, there is NOTHING to back up your claim. It doesn’t matter how minor, PUT IT IN WRITING AND MAKE THEM COPY AND sign/date it. Keep the copy for your record! Cover your ass! You will be surprised how much gets done when you do this. Also, maintain your composure! Acting like an ass will make you lose your credibility.

  104. cbows Says:

    Do not rent from Harbour Pointe Apartments in Bradenton Florida. The owner does not take care of tenants nor do work orders ever get completed. He recently has started renting out the tennis courts to non residents. He does not allow anything to be replaced unless it is completely broken. My stove is from the 60′s. The places are falling apart and nothing is done to improve this ever.

  105. GUEST Says:

    THE LIGHTHOUSE APARTMENTS IN AMARILLO TEXAS ,ARE THE WORST, I LIVE ON THE SECOND FLOOR AND THE TENANT OVER ME RUNS AND JUMPS ALL DAY AND NIGHT,I HAVE COMPLAINED TWICE NOW TO NO AVAIL…LOOKING FOR ANOTHER PLACE TO CALL HOME.

  106. TICKED OFF CONSUMER Says:

    This places pictures look great yep however the buildings are falling apart they have gone through more managers than you can count hardly lit parkinglots and not secure apartments paper thin windows Do you want to hear your neighbors? well too bad you will and i mean EVRYTHING! OVERPRICED TINY little stuffy apartments for the price you could mortage a house for in verde vally its just dispicable im so glad we left oh and don’t forget the spiders and roaches once it gets warm EVRYWHERE crawling the walls getting into the cracks in the doors that aren’t even sealed you can see light through them to the outside half the neighbors i will say are nice old people the other half rowdy young kids who fight and smoke pot its just gross yes its a great location that’s about the only thing they have we went through 3 diffrent managers! its unnacceptable 3 washers and 3 dryers for the entire complex to share half the time they are broken unless you go to the pay washers its just plain WRONG good luck getting the office to listen to you or do a damn thing though im not kidding PLEASE JUST DON”T you will be miserable and other places have better rates! NOT TO MENTION THIS PLACE IS PRICEY ENOUGH!

  107. TICKED OFF CONSUMER Says:

    This places pictures look great yep however the buildings are falling apart they have gone through more managers than you can count hardly lit parkinglots and not secure apartments paper thin windows Do you want to hear your neighbors? well too bad you will and i mean EVRYTHING! OVERPRICED TINY little stuffy apartments for the price you could mortage a house for in verde vally its just dispicable im so glad we left oh and don’t forget the spiders and roaches once it gets warm EVRYWHERE crawling the walls getting into the cracks in the doors that aren’t even sealed you can see light through them to the outside half the neighbors i will say are nice old people the other half rowdy young kids who fight and smoke pot its just gross yes its a great location that’s about the only thing they have we went through 3 diffrent managers! its unnacceptable 3 washers and 3 dryers for the entire complex to share half the time they are broken unless you go to the pay washers its just plain WRONG good luck getting the office to listen to you or do a damn thing though im not kidding PLEASE JUST DON”T you will be miserable and other places have better rates!

  108. TICKED OFF CONSUMER Says:

    SEDONA SUNRISE CONDOS THERE JESUS ABOUT TIME I GOT IT RIGHT This places pictures look great yep however the buildings are falling apart they have gone through more managers than you can count hardly lit parkinglots and not secure apartments paper thin windows Do you want to hear your neighbors? well too bad you will and i mean EVRYTHING! OVERPRICED TINY little stuffy apartments for the price you could mortage a house for in verde vally its just dispicable im so glad we left oh and don’t forget the spiders and roaches once it gets warm EVRYWHERE crawling the walls getting into the cracks in the doors that aren’t even sealed you can see light through them to the outside half the neighbors i will say are nice old people the other half rowdy young kids who fight and smoke pot its just gross yes its a great location that’s about the only thing they have we went through 3 diffrent managers! its unnacceptable 3 washers and 3 dryers for the entire complex to share half the time they are broken unless you go to the pay washers its just plain WRONG good luck getting the office to listen to you or do a damn thing though im not kidding PLEASE JUST DON”T you will be miserable and other places have better rates!

  109. Jessica Giardina Says:

    do not rent an apartment at hillcrest village village in holbrook . Before I moved in last June, I was told that they would be doing a little construction over the summer. This was June 2011. It is not March 2012 and this morning we were awaken at 730 am to jack hammering. Every day for about the past year, I have been awaken to non-stop construction. I called maintenance and then I was told to call main office. I was then told to call accounts management, but no number was given to me and was sent directly to a voicemail. Then I was recently sent a letter that rent would go up do to recent real estate assessment. What I wasn’t told was that I backowed the past three months for it as well. So I was lied to and then charged more money. How aweful. Do not move into this complex. It’s either non stop construction or landscaping right outside you’re window. I was told a little construction work over the summer. It’s almost a year of it, everyday. Shame on them.

  110. monica johnson Says:

    From day one they were not professional at job not good customer service no feedback about process had to always call to get update and false advertisement says it comes with appliances good product it didn’t once my lease up I will be moving it was a long distance move so just imagine what it was like

  111. Mangold Property Says:

    Do not rent from Mangold Property! Horrible……….just Horrible…….They are SLUMLORDS at best….

  112. Miz KJV Only Says:

    6/30/12

    DO NOT rent from Stonehaven East Apts here in Charlotte, NC. I’ve been trying to get them to comply with conditions of the lease contract and get the rude, noisy neighbor behind me to be quiet and stop blasting her music! Capreit mgmt manages these apartments and they would rather have me move then get the tenant to shut up!
    I was told by another tenant that the noisy tenant may be a section 8 girl and the leasing office would rather have the stready city of Charlotte housing authority direct deposit than my personal rent checks. My rent being paid two months in advance in no way makes them do their job and follow the lease they signed with me. I went above leasing office head to the Capreit apartment mgmt headquaters in Maryland. They did nothing but say I could break my lease! I’ve learned from other tenants that they do that all the time instead of kick out section 8 folk.
    Last week I filed a better business bureau complaint and I’ve called police three or four times on loud music since the complaint being filed. I emailed City Chalotte Housing autority my better business bureau complaint. Details….details…..!

    Just remember DO NOT RENT ANY APARTMENTS THAT ARE MANAGED BY CAPREIT RESIDENTAIL OR CAPRIET APARTMENT MANAGEMENT! They have complexes all over the country, Florida, MD, NC, CA etc etc. Alsooo……….DO NOT MOVE TO STONEHAVEN EAST APARTMENTs!

  113. Former Renter Says:

    Do not rent at CANTATA AT THE TRAILS IN ALBUQUERQUE NEW MEXICO, 6700 CANTATA STREET, NW. The management and maintenance have already been completly changed, and the new management is corrupt. There is a ——– maintenance guy there who is a liar and a thief, and is always trying to get into the tenants townhouses without their permission, and when they are not at home. The management refuses to believe that this guy can do any wrong, and even allows him to read your private paperwork that you filled out in order to live there. Then this guy comes to you telling you all about your rental history, how much income you make, and anything else personal you’ve put on the application forms. He’s also a bully, and thinks he can intimidate you. The management tries to run the place like it is a reformatory, and you are suppose to come to them and complain and not their upper management. And, they allow dogs of any size here, and various other animals. Many tenants who have animals work, and these places don’t have private patios, or backyard spaces. So, while the tenants are at work, there dogs use their carpets as the restroom, and not only urinate on them, but poop on them too. This in turn makes the townhomes on either side of them smell really bad like stinky urine, poop, and dog odor. If you complain to the management, you are greeted with hostilities, and harassment from this ——- maintenance guy named, ——. This guy is a nut case, and doesn’t even know what the hell he is doing half the time, and the management who is just as bad protects him, and does nothing.
    There is nothing at all luxury about this place like the ads say. The gym is a little bigger than a 10X10 room, and only has six pieces of exercise equipment for hundreds of residents. And, their swimming pool is always out of order, because children pee and defacate in it all the time. And, dog owners let their dogs poop all over the property, and they don’t bother cleaning it up, so there is always dog poop on the sidewalks, and in the front of your properties. You can also hear just about everything your neighbors say, and I was told there was concrete walls between each apartment-there isn’t. And, a lot of the residents are poor —— with no money, and they park all their extra cars in front of the outside of their garages, and a lot of the inside of their garages are already run down with trash and old garbage in them. You can’t leave your own car in the parking spaces provided for extra cars, because these poor ——- will vandalize them. And, if you want security alarms in your townhome, you have to pay to have them put in, because the management will not do it. I don’t know if this place takes section 8, but I do know a lot of tenants who could afford to pay have broken their leases, and moved-to include me. The place is not luxury at all, and even borders on being a bad place to live, and it is brand new. The rental prices are way too high for what you are getting, which is nothing basically. The townhome layouts are not very good, and spares., and there are a lot of vacant townhomes that have never been rented either, and they had been building for over a year, and have presently stopped because no one is renting there. There is also not any real exercise areas outside, and you have to go some place off the property to enjoy any real exercise or other recreation. The management is telling potential tenants lies about the amenties at this place, too. So if you want to get rob, and put up with lame management, and a thieving and lying maintenance staff, then this is your place to live.

  114. BRIO/BOLERO Says:

    Brio apartiments is Phoenix, Az 7777 W. McDowell Rd. Since the day I moved in they just want money money money. First they had my car towed for no reason at all, 260.00 to get it back then. they came first months rent was suppose to be 715.00 plus water. Water bill for a two bedroom apt. Was never less than 100.00. My roommate and I were hardly ever there both work and go to school.And I alway spent the weekend away. So didnt use a 100 worth of water. Then had a vistitor with a dog come over. Was fine 250.00 for having a visitor with a dog.Not allowed had to pay that or get evicted. Just signed a new lease so had to pay it or get evicted.I told them i just had a vistor they didnt want to hear about it. Just like they didnt want to hear about my water bill or my car being towed. Then paid my rent what they send notice how much to pay. Pay what was on the bill get a notice that I didnt pay my rent and had 5 days to pay. went to talk to them about it they came up with so many excuses why i had to pay more. Never really got an answer but had to pay extra or get evicted. Also gave my thirty day notice gave me a rent bill plus water bill before they even knew how much water I would be using in the last 30 days. So move in at your own risk.

  115. julie Says:

    I want to know how to make a report against a manager in 14630 Wyandotte ,van nuys,california,.the lanlord thinks she has the right to disrepect that tenents.My dog bark once & she came banging on door & screaming at me .she ask me if that was my dog & I said yes then she yelled get your dog inside your apartment right now. From the balcony.then she yelled right now I said & I told her she didn’t have the right to scream at me & she responded well iam gong to report you to animal abuse then & I said report me & iam going to report you for making a false statement.can someone tell me what I can due against this landlord please ?she was done similer things to other tenants & they already made the report with the building ower & he hasent done anything toward the manager.she bangs on tenants doors & makes false statemants & sreams threaths.can I fill complain against the manager

  116. julie Says:

    Don’t even go to apply for low income apartment in 14630 Wyandotte,VanNuy,California.A friend of mine apply for a apartment 7 years ago & she was on the waiting list & this manager just moved in few months ago & she gave a low income apartment to her daughter. & their was other people on the waiting list waiting.the manager in this building doesn’t respect the tenants & the owners of the building don’t fire her.that shows you what kind of rights we have

  117. Guest Says:

    I want to leave few comments about Pavillion homes in manchester,CT.

    This apartment has real big issues with maintenance and quality.

    I lived there for 3 months and couldn’t prolong my stay. in moving inspection apartment owner noted few complaints which were not resolved during my stay.

    When we complained about A/c which is emergency during summer, i got technician attention on 15th day and actual issue resolved after 50 days. i got 250 dollar powerbill due to a/c continously running and resolved after 50 days.

    Apartment owners didn’t pay my heavy powerbills and additionally charged me.

    i was not satisifed 1300$ i paid for them those 4 months of lease agreeement and please suggest how can i proceed

  118. Guest Says:

    SAVE YOUR MONEY!!! I paid them over $50, thinking they would help me. Rental Protection Agency is a RIPOFF. They are not an official organization and landlords are not scared of them at all. My complaint was not resolved, cause landlord rejected all mail from them. No one takes them seriously. when you are chatting with their representative – she makes grammatical errors and doesn’t sound professional at all. All they do for your money is just type a request to landlord to solve the problem and give them a due date. If landlord doesn’t respond – they send another letter and give a new due date. And it goes on and on and nothing happens. Then they will just offer you to close the case and have them leave a negative public record for the landlord online (which they don’t give after all)… Don’t even hope that RPA will help you!

  119. Pete Says:

    Please DO NOT RENT AT 227 HOWE AVENUE SHELTON CT – REASON- THERE’S A CRAZY LADY LIVING IN THE FIRST FLOOR 1S SHE IS A VERY TROUBLE MAKER SHE GOES INTO ALL THE MAIL BOXES STEALING MAIL FROM ALL THE TENANTS, SHE’S DRUNK AND DRUG ALL THE TIME THE LANDLORD CARELESS ABOUT WHAT SHE’S BEING DOING THEY SALE DRUGS IN THE FIRST FLOOR HER DAUGHTER IS A DRUG USER TOO HER SON IS IN JAIL NOW FOR THE 32TH TIME CAUSE POLICE CATCH HIM STEALING PLUS HE WAS DRUG TOO PLEASE PLEASE NEVER RENT IN THAT ROTTEN BUILDING APARTMENT. LANDLORD NEVER FIX AND HE CARELESS FOR HIS TENENTS

  120. Guest Says:

    DO NOT RENT AT CANTATA AT THE TRAILS IN ALBUQUERQUE, NEW MEXICO. This is a rental townhome community, and it is around three to four years old, but they are still building townhomes there. The management are crooks who thieve from you while you’re at work or shopping. And, there’s this ——- guy that does their maintenance, and he’s a total thief, and liar. His name is ——, and he’s also a bully who has driven many tenants to leave Cantatat at the Trails before their lease is up.

    There are also alot of dogs and animals, but there are no back yards to any of these townhomes at Cantata, so the dogs, cats, and other animals are kept in the townhomes all day while their owners go to work. Needless to say, the townhomes-to include the ones that don’t have pets smell like dog, and cat dung, and like something has died in them. The management shows new tenants a clean model townhome where there are no pets, however, when tenants move in, they are faced with extremely unsanitary conditions, and dung and urine odors from pets. Also, most of the people who do rent these places have no money, but there has been an increase in tenants who are trouble makers, and your car gets vandalized if you don’t keep it in your garage.

    However, this place is a total dump, and it only looks good. If you want a really good place to live, do not live at Cantata At the trails, because it is not it. It’s just a dump with a surface makeover, and the predominate hispanic management is running it into the ground and making it a slum haven.

  121. Anonymous Says:

    HEY PURDUE STUDENTS DO NOT STAY AT COLLEGE STATION!!!

  122. jana dorius Says:

    stay away from la serena in california. they are slum lords.at first i was pulled in for the price. but looking at the place is run down,very old .plumbing all throughout the apartment is bad.they just figure youll put up with it, while they collect their rent.sTAY AWAY

  123. Curl Says:

    I had looked at Place One Apartments in Plymouth Meeting, Pa. 19462 for a couple months. The general, in my opinion run down condition of the building and the apartment taken didn’t bother me much.

    The fact they have a quiet hours policy is what made the sale. In my opinion I bought a bunch of crap.

    I’m a cancer Patient with a heart condition that under duress paid Place One Apartments in Plymouth Meeting, Pa. an early termination penalty to in my opinion escape the continual nightly violation of my quiet enjoyment rights!!!!

    Noisy neighbors from day one that in my opinion the staff was very lackluster in getting them to conform to the in-house quiet hour rules would wake me up at midnight, 3 Am or whenever. This would usually happen twice a night but sometimes 3 times a night…..and 5- 6 nights a week……..

    The continual in my opinion violation of my quiet enjoyment rights by the noisy neighbors eventually caused so much stress I had to get out of there…….

    In my opinion telling the office that all I wanted was my quiet enjoyment rights meant nothing. I was given the option of breaking the lease and paying a penalty or remain responsible for the entire term!!!!!!

    Yes, under duress I paid a penalty to save what health I had left and possibly save my “”"”LIFE”"”".

    Adding to the stress, management gave me 7 days to decide if I was leaving but they still wanted 60 days notice!!! In my opinion this is hypocrisy at its’ best!!!!

    Yup, as sick as I was I had a week to find something else or stay and possibly further risk my health.

    Is it my fault I had neighbors that wouldn’t respect the quiet hour rules??? Because of these in-house quiet hour rules is why I moved here in the first place.

    Also, in my opinion the quiet enjoyment rights law means nothing to the management of Place One Apartments in Plymouth Meeting, Pa.

    In my opinion it’s buyer beware at Place One Apartments in Plymouth Meeting, Pa.

    Managed by Morgan Properties from King Of Prussia, Pa.

  124. HOMELESS Says:

    Colonial Pointe Apartments i Orlando fl. this apartment comlex took my money and i had a contract that stated my move in date to only find out that these people still have someine living in the apartment three weeks after my contract date..They have my money and i have NO apartment..NEVER NEVER RENT FROM THIS COMPANY.

  125. Good Tenant Says:

    DO NOT RENT from BEACON POINTE APARTMENTS in Greenwood, Indiana, the maintenance is terrible, I have asked since November 2012 that my carpet be repairs, paint stains on carpets, Dishwash falls out of the wall when you open it. they refused for 6 weeks to let AT&T hook up my house phone.

    They have opened my door 3 times with out my permission, The staff is rude and is never in the office. I have reached out to corporate with no results.

    They price gouge you on rent and especially their cable since you have to use their cable which is DISH and they charge twice as much. They let any and everyone now move in.

    Property is managed by Herman Kittle out of Indianapolis, Indiana

  126. Gloria Lauria Says:

    Please SENIORS 62+ DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT IT—ANYTHING with FPI MANAGEMENT INVOLVED!!! TURN AROUND AND WALK AWAY!!!!!

  127. Mike Haggar Says:

    Don’t rent from Cherry Plaza Apartments in Springfield, MO. They lie & are deceptive. I should have known better when they tried to rent me a place with severe water damage. Now I need repairs they do every thing they can not to fix or help. I call about three or four times, once six they always give me an excuse as to why it wasn’t input in the computer system.

    Came to fix one appliance the oven that was very dangerous & pretended to fix it, today they came by pretending my oven was still sound & safe. Their oven I had checked by professionals I paid stating that the appliance was severely dangerous, but the people the apartment company hires are worthless & haven’t repaired a single thing.

    I needed a new washing machine & they bring me one in even worse condition than the last. My water heater was leaking water on my carpet & the companies hired worker told me my heater was undergoing condensation & it was sweating. I said, “Am I suppose to let my entire carpeting get flooded before you fix it” & the worker said, “Yes.”

    Finally a man who was not the head manager pretended to be so & told me he would take care of the problem, but he couldn’t because he was an imposter.

    Avoid Cherry Plaza Apartments at all costs. I’d rather sleep in my car than live there.

  128. Dawna Hopkins Says:

    ICY–STUCK IN AUTUMN CHASE APT IN CARROLLTON…NO HELP FROM THE OFFICES …RESIDENCES HAVE BEEN OUTSIDE ALL MORNING HAVING TO FEND FOR OURSELVES….. HELPING EACH OTHER…

Leave a Reply