Notice Requirements for Landlords Entering Rented Property – By State

in Legal Issues on by

Below are the notice requirements for the amount of notice landlords must give tenants before they enter a rented property (in non-emergency situations). For more details, see your state’s landlord-tenant statutes.

Source – Nolo.com

State – Amount of Notice Required
Alabama – Two days
Alaska – 24 hours
Arizona – Two days
Arkansas – No statute
California – 24 hours; 48 hours for initial move-out inspection
Colorado – No statute
Connecticut – reasonable notice
Delaware – Two days
District of Columbia – No statute
Florida – 12 hours
Georgia – No statute
Hawaii – Two days
Idaho – No statute
Illinois – No statute
Indiana – Reasonable notice
Iowa – 24 hours
Kansas – Reasonable notice
Kentucky – Two days
Louisiana – No statute
Maine – 24 hours
Maryland – No statute
Massachusetts – No notice specified
Michigan – No statute
Minnesota – Reasonable notice
Mississippi – No statute
Missouri – No statute
Montana – 24 hours
Nebraska – One day
Nevada – 24 hours
New Hampshire – Notice that is adequate under the circumstances
New Jersey – One day for inspections and repairs
New Mexico – 24 hours
New York – No statute
North Carolina – No statute
North Dakota – Reasonable notice
Ohio – 24 hours
Oklahoma – One day
Oregon – 24 hours
Pennsylvania – No statute
Rhode Island – Two days
South Carolina – 24 hours
South Dakota – No statute
Tennessee – No notice specified
Texas – No statute
Utah – 24 hours, unless rental agreement specifies otherwise
Vermont – 48 hours
Virginia – 24 hours, but no notice if entry follows tenant’s request for maintenance
Washington – Two days; one day to show property to actual or prospective tenants or buyers
West Virginia – No statute
Wisconsin – advance notice
Wyoming – No statute

7 Responses to “Notice Requirements for Landlords Entering Rented Property – By State”

  1. March 23, 2012 at 4:56 pm, Amanda said:

    lawyers online associated with this website is a scam and is illegitimately offering advice before stating they will charge a fee. Thank you.

    Reply

  2. March 28, 2012 at 6:30 pm, Stephanie said:

    This chart does not match up with the chart found at the cited website (http://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/chart-notice-requirements-enter-rental-29033.html). Please check into this. I found the error with Pennsylvania and surrounding states on the chart.

    Note: The chart has now been updated. 4/4/2012

    Reply

  3. April 19, 2012 at 9:28 am, Peggy said:

    My door bell rings twice but i did not answer it. I did not feel good had migraine did not want too be bother. Too my surprise my maintenance man unlocks my door too change a filter too my gas furnace. Is that legal??? Plus on their website they said they have barber/beauty shop and full equip kitchen with ice maker. Plus we have lived in dirt since Nov. but the club house has irrigation system and grass growing around it. And if you have a problem they say they will send electrical, and plumber right over that day who never shows up. I had my dyer check out they said because the ax used system goes straight out the roof that every one will have trouble I called and told them she said i have not lived here long enough too have trouble but she would send someone over too fix it that day of course never showed up. What if any thing can I do??? Thanks for your help

    Reply

  4. August 23, 2012 at 10:04 pm, Anonymous said:

    I want to know haw many times can a landlord enter an apartment on a years basis? So far I’ve been here 4.5 month’s and they have visited 3 times, what are they looking for??? A so- called inspections took place today and it consisted of, checking the fire alarms and checking the kitchen faucet, nothing else, is that an inspection by the state, if it is.. it’s laughable.

    Reply

  5. September 14, 2012 at 10:45 am, Louis said:

    Routine inspections and repairs require “substantial
    notice,” (24 hours or more) and inspections and repairs are to occur between “normal
    business hours,” (8 am – 6 pm). The San Antonio, Bexar County Property Code, more
    specifically; Title 4, Chapter 24, in reference to Forcible Entry and Detainer; also
    states, “A person commits a forcible entry if a person enters a residence without legal
    authority or by force … this includes without the consent of the tenant.”

    Reply

  6. May 08, 2013 at 10:40 pm, sugar said:

    In Illinois, you may claim twice the security deposit, when lan dlord refuses to pay you your deposit back. Also, in Illinois, if the unit has 25 or more units, the landlord is suppose to give you a credit ( interest from the security deposit) or a check for the interest… Sue your landlord in small claims when they deny you your deposit. YOU MAY BE SURPRISED AT WHAT YOU WILL BE AWARDED

    Reply

  7. May 03, 2014 at 8:21 pm, MR NOTT said:

    Please. To ALL TENANTS. UNDERSTAND THIS: WE DO NOT HAVE RIGHTS. ESP IF YOU RECEIVE ANY TYPE OF MONETARY SUPPLEMENT OR GOVT ASSISTANCE, A PAYCHECK OR A DEPOSIT FROM THE US TREASURY. NOW THAT SHOULD COVER EVERYONE! Every color. Every creed. Every culture!
    AND AS I WAS SAYING, AS A RENTER- YOU HAVE NO RIGHTS. I SUGGEST ALL AFOREMENTIONED STAY ON VERY VERY GOOD TERMS WITH YOUR PROPERTY OWNER, LANDLORD, PARENT, FRIEND OR WITH WHOMEVER YOU PAY MONTHLY RENT….IN THE FORM OF GOODS OR SERVICES. THAT MEANS EVEN POLICE OFFICERS WHO PAY NO RENT MONEY, BUT OFFER THEIR PERSONAL SERVICES AS AN OFF-DUTY SECURITY OFFICER! Even he gas RULES. LOL JUST ASK CHAPEL RIDGE APT OF YUKON, OKLAHOMA!
    That’s about as CORRUPT AS ONE COULD EVER BE…..
    WHEN YOU DO BAD, YOU WILL GET IT BACK. EVENTUALLY. ONE WAY OR ANOTHER.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

removal